How to Soft-Delete Stale Office 365 Mailboxes

The Ultimate Guide to
Office 365

Office 365 provides the option to “soft-delete” a mailbox, so rather than removing all messages and associated data at once, the mailbox sits in the Active Directory recycle bin for 30 days. This function of not deleting a user completely with one click can come in handy if you need to restore a user within that waiting period.

If you have inactive or “stale” mailboxes in your tenant, they may be good candidates for the soft-delete process. Soft-deleting is an easy task using BetterCloud:

  1. From the Domain Health and Insight Center or All Alerts, view your alert for active users who have not accessed their mailboxes in 30 days or more.
  2. Select the mailboxes you wish to soft-delete, or select all by clicking the checkbox at the top of the list.
  3. Click the Delete Account(s) button.

 

Get the best tips and tricks in your inbox daily