Skip to content

Product Tip Tuesday: Automatically Assign an Archived User License

Maddie Buyers

January 14, 2020

< 1 minute read

PTT_Archive-Unarchive_FeaturedImage

For this week’s Product Tip, we want to highlight an action that you can take in BetterCloud during your offboarding workflow. This action is the archive user action and adding it to your offboarding workflow will make your life a little easier.

If you’re on G Suite, you can assign departed users an Archived User (AU) license once you archive a departing user. AU licenses securely maintain users’ data, because Google retains all of the user’s G Suite data where it’s available in Google Vault until you decide to permanently delete the user. Assigning an AU license also prevents the departed user from accessing G Suite services and it ensures that you’re not paying for a G Suite license that isn’t being used.

Archiving a user becomes especially important if you work in a regulated industry where being in compliance means holding onto files for an allotted amount of time.

All you have to do in BetterCloud is add the “archive user” action to your offboarding workflow in order to assign the departing user an AU license.

If you have questions about how you should incorporate this into your workflows, reach out to your CSM.

Categories

Sign up for our newsletter