How to Disable Lync Conversation History

By default, Lync 2013 stores your conversation history in Outlook. This is a handy setting if you need to recover an old conversation with a coworker or remind yourself of some information that was shared.

If you want to see these saved IM conversations, you can go to the automatically-created “Conversation History” folder.

However, if you don’t want to store your Lync conversations, the video above will show you the steps to disable the conversation history setting.

  1. In Lync 2013, click on the Settings gear menu.
  2. Select Tools.
  3. Select Options.
  4. Go to the Personal tab.
  5. Un-check Save IM conversations in my email Conversation History folder.

Admins, you can disable Lync archiving for users, either individually or for your whole tenant, via PowerShell. You can check out this Microsoft forum post (links directly to cmdlet for entire tenant) for more information.

Get the best tips and tricks in your inbox daily